Making musical dreams a reality

One of my colleagues received the following e-mail from JMU student Avery Daugherty. He shares his unique vision for being the change and invites others to participate in making dreams come true. If you’d like to lend a hand, a musical instrument, or other support, get in touch with Avery.

“My name is Avery Daugherty and I am a graduating student at JMU. I have enjoyed and appreciated musicianship for the past 5 years here at JMU through the MRD’s and various ensembles as well as my involvement with Kappa Kappa Psi.

“This is difficult for me to express, but I am driven and determined this semester. I am uplifted and inspired to give as much of myself as I possibly can before my time expires at JMU this May. In particular, I am wanting to give back to the community the gift of music as it has truly changed my life, especially during my time in college.

“One project that sticks out in my mind as something that could truly inspire future musicians is a donation.

“I feel driven to try and collect unwanted or unused instruments and share them with passionate students throughout Harrisonburg and Rockingham County. There is no greater of a gift that could be made than that of an actual instrument to student. This is not only a personal goal of mine, but also my mission to fulfill
before I graduate.

“Who better to lend some assistance with my dream of inspiring musicianship in students than those who feel the same passion and drive I feel?

“I have two basic ideas. One is to try and collect as many instruments as I possibly can in what ever condition and donate them to various schools and have them available for school use only. Another idea was for me to attempt to raise money and purchase a new performance instrument to donate to a deserving and aspiring musician. I would develop a close relationship with the four high school band directors Rob Nash, Gregg Oaks, Ben Frenchak, and J.R. Snow to assist in the selection process.

“While this is a dream of mine, I truly believe that your assistance can make this become a reality.

“If you can be of assistance in the collection of instruments and/or instrument accessories, please contact me so that I may fulfill not only my dream, but that of talented young musicians in the area.

“I was told, and truly believe, that it only requires the spark from one individual to craft an idea and inspire others, but it takes those inspired individuals to help change the world.

“Thank you for all that you do for musicians everywhere.”

Avery C. Daugherty
daugheac@jmu.edu

2 Responses to Making musical dreams a reality

  1. Tom Trish says:

    Nice site, added it to my favorites

    Like

  2. I usually dont post in Blogs but your blog forced me to, amazing work.. beautiful

    Like

Leave a Reply

