Facknitz, Mark

Jessica Vollrath appreciates Dr. Mark Facknitz:

“‘He who would do good to another must do it in Minute Particulars:
general Good is the plea of the scoundrel, hypocrite, and flatterer,
for Art and Science cannot exist but in minutely organized Particulars.’
-William Blake

Mark Facknitz brought me to the realization that learning goes beyond what one is required to do. To research, and learn how to write a paper without the meticulous BS and a lack of knowledge was but one lesson Dr. Facknitz has changed my world. Every JMU student would benefit from listening to him speak before engaging in collegiate activities. Dr. Facknitz is not only my teacher with whom I have taken one class and am taking another, but also my advisor. I went to him one day with worries regarding my future. As he listened to me confess my passion for Romantic Literature, he did not scare me away from the idea of a Ph.D. like the majority of my peers and professors. Instead, Dr. Facknitz expressed his faith in my ability to not only enter a program and do well, but also to find a job at a prestigious University thereafter. I had never received such encouragement. With that, he also informed Dr. Castellano, the romantic poetry professor at James Madison University, who sought me out to work on an independent study. Both professors have given me more than enough to start with. I cannot imagine how many lives Mark Facknitz has changed; how many students he has pushed to their best.”–submitted Nov. 16, 2006

Leave a Reply

